History of the Clearwater Flycasters

The Clearwater Flycasters was started in 1970. An organizational meeting was held in May of that year. Sherman Lowell was the first president. The club newsletter, called the Kreel Notz and later changed to Creel Notes, was first published in July of the same year (1970) by Myron Micky (keeper of the Kreel Notz). Steve Allured designed the first club vest patch. Charter membership during the inaugural year reached 27 members, with membership costing \$10. Several items of interest can be gleaned from the early issues in the newsletter archives:

- In the very first issue of the club newsletter it was reported that the membership voted to unanimously support the Northwest Steelheaders Association in their fight against dams in the principle rivers of the northwest (Kreel Notz, July 1970).
- The ratio of fish caught to hours fished was 1 fish: 5 hours fished, and the likelihood of catching a steelhead was "on par with taking a steelhead with spin gear" Don Chatman, Idaho Cooperative Fisheries Unit, UI.
- \$38 was spent on lotus blossom juice in the first treasurer's report.
- 1972 Myron Micky moves to Alaska and Sherm Lowell takes over as editor in addition to being president (2/72).
- **1973** Dave Engerbretson takes over as editor (12/73).
- In September of 1974 the newsletter's name is changed to the Tippet and Steve Allured redesigns the masthead, which runs unaltered until December 1999.
- 1975 It's announced that the club has filed incorporation papers and has an official set of by-laws (thanks to Claude Irwin's help, 2/75). The new improved club patch in "CFC yellow" with brown trim goes on sale at the March 1975 meeting. Sherman Lowell writes up the club history to date (1975).
- 1976 The board opens board meetings to all club members and encourages all to attend with the hopes that "attendance by membership will provide a greater input regarding the management of club affairs (1/76). Mark Kuipers takes over as editor (3/76). David Moseley temporarily takes over the Tippet for two months, December 1976 and January 1977.
- **1977** ?
- **1978** ?
- **1979** ?
- 1980 °
- 1981 Mark moves to Yellowstone during the summer and by October, the Tippet, still without an editor, is put out by a rotation of "editors" from the ranks of the club's officers (6/81).
- 1982 Over a year later, that Marv Slind takes over in the editor's post (12/82).
- 1983 1985 Dues are raised to \$15 1/85. Club members are urged to write IDFG asking that special regulations be imposed on the St Maries River 11/85.
- 1984
- 1985
- 1986 Membership stands at 71 (1/86). Don Jensen designs a new club decal (9/86). First year for the fish-out on the St. Joe River (9/86).

- 1987
- **1988** Meeting is moved to Shermer's (actually, the restaurant is merely renamed) 9/88.
- 1989 The Steve Allured Benton Collins Memorial Award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the activities of the Clearwater Fly Casters, conservation and the sport of fly-fishing. Sherm Lowell is the first recipient (3/89). A club scrapbook is established (12/89). Joe Ford takes over as editor (12/89).
- Questionnaires are sent to members by Dave Tharp and the club puts out a fly "book" (1/90). Board makes meetings 'no smoking'.
- 1991 Dave Tharp "elected" club historian. Club buys a block of FFF membership and debate rages over who should be allowed to enter the raffle for the free fly rod. A second questionnaire is sent out (2/91). Plans to organize club library announced (11/91).
- 1992 John Read suggests that the club help the Forrest Service with in-stream modifications on the St. Marie River. The Steve Allured Benton Collins Award is given to Mary Slind (4/92).
- 1993 A "where to go" survey is taken for new members (2/93) and published (4/93). The Steve Allured Benton Collins Award is given to Andy Kleinhofs (3/93)
- 1994 The Board proposes that, "any member, age 65 or older and with 15 years membership in the Clearwater Fly Casters, be granted honorary membership for life". Seconded and approved by members (3/94). Club dues raised to \$20. Bill Hoge is given the Benton Collins award. A set of framed Steve Allured Flies changes hands every year with the new winner.
- The club votes to rent a post office box on the WSU campus with keys available to the secretary and editor. George Hinman receives the Steve Allured Benton Collins Memorial Award for his outstanding contributions to the Clearwater Fly Casters, the sport of fly-fishing, and to conservation (3/95). The summer fishout on the upper St Joe is reinstated after a 9 year hiatus (4/95). Initiative **R45** passes in WA re-establishing an independent F&W Commission. It would continue to allow the governor to appoint 3 fish & wildlife commissioners every two years. It also gives the commission, rather than the governor, the power to appoint the Fish & Wildlife Department's director (appointments would be based on expertise in conservation rather than political connections). It expands the commission's authority over commercial fish and shellfish allotment, it gives the commission authority over tribal and international fish & wildlife agreements, it permits the Commission to approve the Department's budget and allows the Commission to select its own staff. 1933 1987 status (10/95)!
- **1996** Denny Cartwright receives the Steve Allured Benton Collins Award (3/96)
- 1997 9th Annual Steve Allured Benton Collins Award given to Leroy Hyatt.
- 1998 10th Annual Steve Allured Benton Collins Award given to Gene and Natalie Clark.
- **1999** 11th Annual Steve Allured Benton Collins Award given to Dave Tharp.
- **2000** 12th Annual Steve Allured Benton Collins Award given to Bill Hendrix.
- **2001** Tim Cavileer takes over as Club Historian (2/2001). Annual Steve Allured Benton Collins Award not given.
- 2002 13th Annual Steve Allured Benton Collins Award given to Joe McGurkin. Dues

raised to \$30/family, \$50yr/sustaining and \$300/lifetime established. Club meetings moved to the Best Western in Moscow, Idaho starting with the October meeting.

2003 Dave Tharp returns to being the club historian. Bruce Fraizer is President, Don Shearer – Vice President. Dave Engerbretson dies July 30th, 2003.